Eric Kunnen\’s GRCC Blog


Teacher Suspended after Video Posted by Student on Youtube
October 9, 2007, 10:47 am
Filed under: Articles

I saw this today on the Today Show on NBC. That is, a teacher was suspended after she delivered a “cheerleading” performance in a Humanities class during spirit week.

Teacher suspended for cheering
Teacher suspended for cheering

I’ve wondered about this particular issue recently as I know how prevalent cell phones are here on campus.  I also know that the word is out so-to-speak about cell phones and their use in cheating on tests and such, but with the ability to record audio and video during a class session, perhaps without the knowledge of the instructor… well that adds another aspect to the situation.  I can imagine that the classroom can quickly become a much more public place since with a few clicks a video can easily be posted on Youtube and shared with millions of people – instantly.

What do you think? Does this change what you do in your classroom, what you say, or how you act? Should students be allowed to record your class lecture and post it freely on Youtube?


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I think faculty should be free to permit students to record lectures or prevent them from doing it. I ask students before I record, and they should ask me!

Comment by gbrand




Leave a Reply

